Home > National Gallery

The National Gallery

Situated on the north side of Trafalgar Square, the National Gallery has been the home for the National Collection of Art from 1250 to 1900. All art after 1900 is kept in the Tate Modern on the South Bank.

The gallery contains more than 2,300 paintings - all of which are owned by the British public. There is no admission charge to the main collection, although there is a collection box to allow donations to support the upkeep of the gallery. There are special exhibitions from time to time which do charge an admission fee.